Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
I'm thinking.....
11-18-2018, 09:50 PM
I'm thinking.....
Confused Smile I have a very good shooting .40-70 Shiloh with a 34" HVY barrel that does not make silhouette weight. This rifle is my first Shiloh I have had over 20 years and it sot well enough that it earned me a lot of dust collectors at gong shoots but it has been a safe queen for several years now.
This is what I been rolling around in my mind for about a year now. Two years ago I started shooting silhouette and it has really has stared me liking this game so I had a .40-65 CPA build that is a tack driver but it's right at 12#1/2 oz with the tang sights and it has not rang a ram yet but they fall very slowly and it's a little heavy for off hand to my liking so I been thinking cutting the barrel down to 28" maybe but I have no idea what a 28" barrel will do with black powder loads all mine have been 30" plus except the 73 trapdoor carbine .45-70 I have and it shoots very well with it's short barrel but I hate to think that this might change the way it shoots.
Does anyone here shoot a 28" BPCR? and what does the short barrel balance do for you off hand?

Kurt

The reason a dog has so many friends is because he wags his tail instead of his tongue.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-19-2018, 01:48 AM
RE: I'm thinking.....
I've had a couple of rifles with the 28 inch barrel, not much difference in balance between those and a 30 inch barrel. Velocity will be a tad slower, and it makes for some stranger than what you're used to sight come ups.

A wise man can always be found alone. A weak man can always be found in a crowd.
11-19-2018, 10:03 AM
(11-19-2018 01:48 AM)Don McDowell Wrote:  I've had a couple of rifles with the 28 inch barrel, not much difference in balance between those and a 30 inch barrel. Velocity will be a tad slower, and it makes for some stranger than what you're used to sight come ups.